Make Your Own Clock

A month or so ago, hubby was getting a hair cut and I decided I really wanted a smoothie. On my way to Jamba Juice, I stumbled across the Chiasso store that was in the same stripmall that I hadn’t realized was there. I was wondering around and actually found a bunch of really neat things. One thing I kept coming back to, however, was this ronaldo clock:


I loved the fact that it had the fun stripes in the “wood” and the photo frames added a level of personalization to the clock. What I didn’t like, was the $40 price tag (Items are cheaper in the store than they are online). Especially when the one in the store had screws sticking out through the front of the panels.

So I decided to do what I do and do it myself! Since I was already buying panels for my wall art project, I bought one more, slightly thinner, 2’x2’x1/4” panel, which I cut into a variety of squares and rectangles.


Which I then stained with the same Minwax Red Mahogany stain. I then printed and cut photos from our Costa Rican honeymoon to add that bit of personalization I liked about the inspiration clock. I also purchased a clock kit from the arts and crafts store. They didn’t have any with silver hands, so I also grabbed a silver paint pen (a staple from my sorority days) and colored the gold arms silver.

In another moment of inspiration, based on a passport art project from Brooklyn Limestone, I added a copy of our honeymoon passport stamp to one of the boards. A little more Modge Podge, some screws, the installation of the clock in the middle, and drawing lines for the clock later, I have an extra touch of our honeymoon in our bathroom:



Leave a Reply

